How to share your data

Using Dashlane's Secure Sharing feature, you can securely share logins, passwords and notes with other people, whether they are Dashlane users or not (although they will have to install Dashlane for free to get access to the shared data). 

Why use Sharing?

Sharing data in emails or texts is not secure.

Each time you send a password or any sensitive information by email, it is copied in plain text in the sent folder on your computer as well as in the sent folder on all other devices connected to your mailbox. It is also copied on your email provider servers and on your recipient’s email provider servers (which may actually include several different locations and data centers) and finally on your recipient’s computers or devices.

Using instant messaging apps is also insecure, as the information is usually not encrypted and is sent in plain text on the network. This means that it can be read by the company running the messaging service, and conversations are also generally saved in the history by these applications.

If you share using Dashlane, then your data is encrypted using the best encryption system around before being sent over the internet. Please see the Security and Privacy section of this article for more details.

For more information on security and encryption, please click here.

How to Share

There are two ways to share your data with someone else.

From the item you want to share

​To share an item with someone, simply open up the item that you want to share from either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections. Note that you can only share data stored in these sections. Click on the credential or secure note to open it up and then click on the Share button. Alternatively, you can simply right click the credential from the list and choose Share.

Here, you need to put the email of the person you want to share with and click on Next.

Please note that you can choose between two permission settings: limited rights (the person(s) you share with can only use the items you share with them - they cannot view, edit, revoke access to, or share them with others) and full rights (the person(s) you share with can view, edit and share these items with others - they can also edit the sharing rights for these items and revoke access to them).

The other person will receive an email letting them know that you want to share this item with them. Then, they will see this item in the Sharing Center of their Dashlane account as well as in either the Passwords or Secure Notes section.

If you share an item to someone who does not have a Dashlane account (with the email you chose to share with), then this person will receive an email with a link to get access to the item you shared.

When they click on the link, it will start downloading Dashlane. They will need to create a Dashlane account (it's free) to get access to the shared item. Then, the item will be in the Sharing Center in their Dashlane app.

They will need to go to the Sharing Center section in Dashlane to Accept access to this item and then the item will also appear in either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections (depending on what kind of data you shared with them).

You will notice that any shared items will have a special icon underneath it, telling you that this item is shared with one or several other people. You can click on See details to see with whom you are sharing this item.

Using the Sharing Center

You can share your passwords and notes directly from the Sharing Center.

To do so, open your Dashlane app and go to the Sharing Center section. From there, click on the green Add new button at the top of the window. Select the items you want to share with the little arrow button on the right. Then type the email addresses you wish to share with - alternatively, you can select addresses already used with the little arrow button on the right.

After that, choose between two permission settings: limited rights (the person(s) you share with can only use the items you share with them - they cannot view, edit, revoke access to, or share them with others) and full rights (the person(s) you share with can view, edit and share these items with others - they can also edit the sharing rights for these items and revoke access to them), and click Next to enter an optional message.

The other person will receive an email letting them know that you want to share this item with them. Then, they will see this item in the Sharing Center of their Dashlane account as well as in either the Passwords or Secure Notes section.

If you share an item to someone who does not have a Dashlane account (with the email you chose to share with), then this person will receive an email with a link to get access to the item you shared.

When they click on the link, it will start downloading Dashlane. They will need to create a Dashlane account (it's free) to get access to the shared item. Then, the item will be in the Sharing Center in their Dashlane app.

They will need to go to the Sharing Center section in Dashlane to Accept access to this item and then the item will also appear in either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections (depending on what kind of data you shared with them).

Shared items management

After a password or a note has been shared with you, and if you were granted full rights over the data, you will then have the same rights over this data than its creator. You will be able to:

  • Change / edit the password or secure note (this will update the data for each user it has been shared with)
  • See with whom this has been shared (from the Sharing Center)
  • Revoke the sharing rights for any or all users (when revoking access, Dashlane remotely deletes data from other computers at the next launch)

This feature is useful in companies because if data is used by employee A but they leave, then the new employee B can get access to all data and then revoke access rights for employee A.

Please note that if a password is shared with you, and if you delete it from your password vault, the password will not be deleted from its creator's password vault.

Do I need to be Premium to share?

No, you don't have to be Premium to share but if you are a free user, then you can only share a maximum of 5 items with each person. Premium users get unlimited sharing. Read more here: Dashlane Free v. Premium

Revoke a user

If you shared something with a wrong email address or you change your mind later, then you can revoke access from the Sharing Center. Click on the X or Stop icon next to the item you shared and then click on "Revoke access" to stop sharing this item with this person.

Security and Privacy

For each Dashlane user, we created:

  • a unique public key (which is used to encrypt data before sending it to other users) saved on Dashlane's servers
  • a unique private key (known only to you and never shared or transmitted to others) which is directly saved in your Dashlane account and encrypted in your Dashlane settings so this works even for free users who do not have the sync feature because your account settings are synced across all devices, even if you don't have Premium. This private key is used to decrypt data exclusively. Please note that your private key is different to your master password. Your private key is encrypted with your master password and stored in your settings in your Dashlane account (along with all your other sensitive data). This private key is synced over to other devices in the same way as your encrypted data is. Please note that we never send your master password over the internet.

Both keys are generated together and are meant to work together because they only work in one direction. One can never be used to replace the other. You could give your public key to all the impalas on Earth and no one could ever use it to decrypt and read your shared data. This is public-key cryptography magic!

The data that is shared is encrypted with the user’s public key but cannot be decrypted with the public key.

The data can only be decrypted with the private key of the user (which is only known to the user) but the private key cannot be used to encrypt data.

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
5 out of 6 found this helpful