In the Admin Console, admins can easily remove members from their Starter, Team, or Business plan and use those seats to invite new members to their plan. There are several steps to follow when admins wish to remove a member or other admins from their plan.
Remove a member
Removing a member from a Starter, Team, or Business plan can be done from the Users tab of the Admin Console.
To remove one or more members, select the box to the left of the member, and then select Remove at the top of the list.
You can also select the gear icon for the member and then select Remove user.
A pop-up will prompt you to confirm.
Learn more about removing access to your Starter, Team, or Business plan.
When a member is removed, the license becomes available for any other member to use via an invitation sent by the plan's admin. All unused licenses can be seen in the Users tab.
Remove a member from a Starter or Team plan
When removing a member from a Starter or Team plan, their Dashlane account isn't deactivated. The member simply stops enjoying the paid subscription previously granted to them via the Starter or Team plan, as well as other business-specific features such as Spaces, Sharing Groups, admin-assisted account recovery, and more.
This means that all logins that were stored in their accounts, whether these had been manually created or shared with them, won't be deleted unless the policy setting to revoke company items for removed users was enabled. When enabled, any removed member will lose all items related to the Business Space.
If it wasn't enabled, all logins shared with members on the plan before removing them will have to be manually removed. You can do this from the Sharing Center:
- In the Sharing Center, select the removed member.
- Select Edit access next to the items that you want to remove.
- Select Revoke access, then Change rights.
- In the final pop-up select Revoke access to confirm the action to revoke their access to the items that were shared between you. If these logins weren't shared by the admins, or if they were shared with Limited Rights, only the original sharer can revoke access to these logins.
Removed members will be removed automatically from all Sharing Groups and will lose access to all items shared via group sharing.
Remove a member from a Dashlane Business plan
If you have not activated single sign-on (SSO), your steps to remove a member are the same as any other Dashlane plan for businesses.
If you have enabled SSO on your Business plan, remember that since your members created their Dashlane account using their SSO login, they have no Master Password. This means that as soon as they are removed from your plan, they lose access to their Dashlane account and to the information stored in it, including their personal logins.
We, therefore, recommend you take the time to notify a member before removing them from your plan. You can invite them to export a secure backup of their personal data (not available on iOS devices) that they'll be able to restore later to a new Dashlane account. Remember that all items that were forced to the member's Business Space and contained your company domain won't be exported from the member's account, and won't be available to the member once they have been removed.
How members can export a secure backup of their personal data
Remove an admin
We recommend that all Starter, Team, or Business plans to have at least two admins. If you are a part of a Starter, Team, or Business plan with one assigned admin who left the company before transferring their admin rights to someone else, the Customer Support team can help.
You can remove an admin from a Starter, Team, or Business plan by going to the Users tab of the Admin Console. Select the gear icon for the admin you want to remove and select Remove user.
If your billing contact doesn't need admin permissions, you can change their status to Member by selecting the gear icon and then Change to member. They remain the billing contact.
How to change billing contact on plan
Before an admin is removed, we recommend the following:
- Transfer their login ownership to another admin
- Remove their access to any logins you don't want them to have access to
- If their account is being billed, change your plan's billing to someone else