On the Admin Console, admins can easily revoke members from their business plan, and use those seats to invite new users to their plan. There are several steps to follow when admins wish to offboard a user or other admins from their plan.
How to offboard a user
Offboarding a user from a business plan can be done from the Users tab of the Admin Console.
To revoke one or more users, tick the boxes to the left of the users, then click on Revoke at the top of the list. You can also scroll to the right and access Revoke user directly from the three-dot menu to the far right of each user.
A pop-up will prompt to confirm if you're certain to do so. For more information, please visit this page.
When a business user is deactivated, the license becomes available for any other member to use via an invitation sent by the plan's admin. All unused licenses can be seen on the Users tab.
Offboarding a user from a Team plan
When revoking a user from a Team plan, their Dashlane account is not deactivated. The user simply stops enjoying the paid subscription previously granted to them via the Team plan, as well as other business-specific features such as Spaces, Sharing Groups, Zero-Knowledge Account Recovery and more.
This means that all passwords that were stored in their accounts, whether these had been manually created or shared with them, will not be deleted, unless the setting to remove company items for revoked users was enabled. When enabled, any revoked member will lose all items related to the business space.
If it was not enabled, all passwords shared with users on the plan prior to revoking them will have to be manually revoked. This can be done on the Sharing Center by
- Clicking on the revoked user
- Clicking on Edit access next to the items that you want to revoke
- Selecting Revoke access, then Change rights
- In the final pop-up clicking on Revoke access to confirm the action to remove their access to the items that were shared between you. If these passwords weren't shared by the admins, or if they were shared with Limited Rights, only the original sharer can revoke the access to these passwords.
Revoked users will be automatically removed from all Sharing Groups and will therefore lose access to all items that were shared via group sharing.
Offboarding a user from a Dashlane Business plan
If you have not activated single sign-on (SSO) with your plan, you can refer to the information in the section above, as the impact on your members will be the same as if they were removed from a Team plan.
If you have enabled SSO on your Business plan, remember that since your users created their Dashlane account using their SSO credentials, they have no Master Password. This means that as soon as they are revoked from your plan, they outright will lose access to their Dashlane account and to the information stored in it, including their personal credentials.
We therefore recommend you take the time to notify a user before removing them from your plan. You can invite them to export a secure backup of their personal data (currently available only from an Android device) that they'll be able to restore later to a new Dashlane account. Remember that all items that were forced to the user's business space and contained your company domain will not be exported from the user's account, and will not be available to the user once they have been revoked.
How to offboard an admin
We recommend to all business plans to have at least two admins in order to have a back-up admin in case one leaves. If you are a part of a business plan with one assigned admin who left the company before transferring their admin rights to someone else, please get in touch with our Support team.
Offboarding an admin from a Team plan
Admins can only be revoked from a Team plan after their status was first changed to a Member. Then to complete the process, please refer to the instructions of how to offboard a user above.
Admins leaving the company should transfer all password ownership to another admin with full rights. To know more on how to share passwords, please read the following guide: How to share your data. If you are one of the other plan's admins and already have access to all these passwords, make sure that your former admin no longer does. Please refer to the first section of this article for more information on how to revoke shared data.
Offboarding an admin from a Business plan
The process will be the same as if you were removing an admin from a Team plan.