In the Admin Console, admins can easily remove members from their Team or Business plan and use those seats to invite new members to their plan. There are several steps to follow when admins wish to remove a member or other admins from their plan.
Remove a member
Removing a member from a Team or Business plan can be done from the Users tab of the Admin Console.
To remove one or more members, select the box to the left of the member, and then select Revoke at the top of the list.
You can also scroll to the right and access Revoke user directly from the 3-dot menu to the far right of each member.
A pop-up will prompt you to confirm.
When a member is removed, the license becomes available for any other member to use via an invitation sent by the plan's admin. All unused licenses can be seen on the Users tab.
Remove a member from a Team plan
When removing a member from a Team plan, their Dashlane account isn't deactivated. The member simply stops enjoying the paid subscription previously granted to them via the Team plan, as well as other business-specific features such as Spaces, Sharing Groups, Zero-Knowledge account recovery, and more.
This means that all logins that were stored in their accounts, whether these had been manually created or shared with them, won't be deleted unless the setting to remove company items for revoked users was enabled. When enabled, any removed member will lose all items related to the Business Space.
If it was not enabled, all logins shared with members on the plan before removing them will have to be manually removed. You can do this from the Sharing Center:
- In the Sharing Center, select the removed member.
- Select Edit access next to the items that you want to remove.
- Select Revoke access, then Change rights.
- In the final pop-up select Revoke access to confirm the action to remove their access to the items that were shared between you. If these logins weren't shared by the admins, or if they were shared with Limited Rights, only the original sharer can revoke access to these logins.
Removed members will be removed automatically from all Sharing Groups and will lose access to all items shared via group sharing.
Remove a member from a Dashlane Business plan
If you have not activated single sign-on (SSO) with your plan, you can refer to the information in the section above, as the impact on your members will be the same as if they were removed from a Team plan.
If you have enabled SSO on your Business plan, remember that since your members created their Dashlane account using their SSO credentials, they have no Master Password. This means that as soon as they are removed from your plan, they lose access to their Dashlane account and to the information stored in it, including their personal credentials.
We, therefore, recommend you take the time to notify a member before removing them from your plan. You can invite them to export a secure backup of their personal data (not available on iOS devices) that they'll be able to restore later to a new Dashlane account. Remember that all items that were forced to the member's Business Space and contained your company domain won't be exported from the member's account, and won't be available to the member once they have been removed.
Remove an admin
We recommend that all Team or Business plans to have at least two admins to have a backup admin in case one leaves your company. If you are a part of a Team or Business plan with one assigned admin who left the company before transferring their admin rights to someone else, please get in touch with our Support team.
Admins can only be removed from a Team or Business plan after their status is changed to a Member. Then to complete the process, please refer to the steps on how to remove a member in this article.
Before an admin is removed, we recommend the following: