Smart Space Management is a business feature that allows admins to exclusively store company items in the business space based on a company's domain or domains. When fully enabled, all credentials containing a company domain are moved into the business space for all users on the account. Ensuring business passwords are stored in the business space gives admins a more accurate look at their employees’ password habits by providing more accurate security scores, while also giving users a clear distinction between company-related and personal items.
The domain is referred to as the Business Space Domain in the Admin Console.
Fully using Smart Space Management allows employees to have specific credentials seamlessly moved to the business space as soon as they've been added. A company domain can exist in the following parts of a credential:
- Secondary login
Smart Space Management
Smart Space Management is enabled by default once a company's domain has been set in the Admin Console. When enabled, Dashlane will automatically suggest relevant space attribution based on the company's domain. However, users will still have the ability to manually change the space of the credential unless their admin enables an additional feature, which is detailed below.
Configuring Smart Space Management
To set up or edit the company domain, log in to the Admin Console and click Settings on the left side of the screen.
In the Policies section, add your company's domains. Afterwards, all credentials that contain the domains will be added to the company space by default.
Moving company items to the business space
Moving company items to the business space ensures credentials related to a company domain are stored in the business space, and will not allow members to change the space of that credential.
Turning the feature on
To move company items to the business space, first click on the Settings menu on the left side of the screen. In the Smart Space Management section (which should be right at the top), switch on the Move company items to Business Space setting.
With this feature enabled, users are unable to move passwords to their personal space.