Being a member of a business plan gives all users access to specific features like data sync between devices, group sharing and the Admin Console for plan administrators.
If your current trial or paid plan ends or is not automatically renewed (generally due to a payment issue), your plan will enter into a 30-day grace period, to allow you to renew your plan or determine the appropriate next steps. If payment is not received during the grace period, your plan will expire.
There are two ways your business plan can expire at the end of a trial or paid plan:
During a trial
Dashlane provides a 30-day trial to allow you to test using Dashlane before making your purchase. Your plan may expire at the end of the trial if a payment is not received, for example if a credit card is not added to your Admin Console or if the payment is otherwise unsuccessful.
At the end of a paid plan
If credit card details are entered in your admin console, our payment processing system will attempt to charge your card two days prior to the plan’s renewal date.
If these attempts fail, your plan will enter a 30-day grace period to allow you to determine the appropriate next steps. At this time, you will still have full access to your business plan and our support team to address concerns. If payment is not received during the grace period, your plan will expire.
Note that if you no longer want your business plan to renew, please contact Dashlane Support so that renewal can be disabled and your account be able to expire.
What will my account status be
At the end of the grace period, both admins and the end users of an expired business plan will all receive email notifications informing them of their new account status.
When a business plan expires, all users receive a 40-day trial of Dashlane Premium, which allows them to maintain access to Dashlane’s syncing, back-up and other features. Naturally, features specific to a business plan, such as Spaces, Group Sharing, Account Recovery and the Admin Console, are no longer available after a plan expires.
If users don't purchase a Dashlane Premium plan, after the 40-day trial their account will convert to a Free plan, which has more limited functionality and storage.
Note that if the Dashlane SSO is enabled when a Business plan expires, users will no longer be able to access their Dashlane accounts.
What happens to the data saved on my account
Depending on your plan’s settings, users will either lose access to all of their passwords, retain all of their passwords, or else retain only their personal passwords and lose access to their business-related passwords and Secure Notes.
Business plans have the option to enable the feature to Remove company items for revoked users. This allows admins to automatically remove company-related credentials when a user is revoked from their plan, based on domains previously set in the Admin Console.
If "Remove company items for revoked users" is enabled when a plan expires, passwords that match specified domains will be removed for all users, including admins. If the admins don't want business passwords to be removed, they must deactivate "Remove company items for revoked users" on the Admin Console before the plan expires.
If the Dashlane SSO is enabled when a Business plan expires, users will lose access to their Dashlane accounts and all of their passwords.
Data is recoverable for 30 days after expiration. Details on recovering a business plan are below.
What will happen to shared items
Items shared between Dashlane users may be removed or remain, depending on your plan’s settings prior to your account expiring. There are multiple scenarios that may impact shared items, which are defined in the chart below.
Passwords shared with 1:1 sharing will remain for users unless Remove company items for revoked users is enabled.
Passwords and Secure Notes shared via Sharing Groups will be removed for all users except for their original sharer. For security reasons, Sharing Groups cannot be recovered after a business plan expires and will need to be recreated by an admin if a plan is recovered by our support team.
What communication you will receive from us
If your plan enters a grace period, admins will receive notification by email. Admins will receive automated messages during the grace period, and a member of our team may reach out to offer additional assistance. Warnings and countdowns will also be displayed in the Admin Console and within your Dashlane apps.
How can I recover my plan
If your plan expires unintentionally, or you want to recover it later, a member of our support team can help. Please contact our Customer Support team, so we can assist you in recovering an expired plan. For security reasons, only an administrator can make the request to recover a plan.
Once a plan is recovered by a member of our Support team, you will regain access to your Admin Console for a three-day period, during which you can update your plan’s billing information in order to renew your plan.
Once a plan is recovered or renewed, an admin will need to re-invite users to the plan, and users will need to accept the email invitation to join your plan again. Admins on the plan at the time of expiration will automatically be included in the plan.
Not all data will be restored if a plan is recovered. Admins of a recovered plan will have to restore its previous Sharing Groups, Active Directory details, and some shared passwords. Please see the chart below to understand what happens to shared items once an expired plan was recovered (in the course of 30 days since it expired).
Note that if a plan has been expired for 30 days or more, no removed items can be restored.
Please contact your Customer Success manager if your plan is paid by an invoice/PO.