Note: You can't require a Master Password to open items if you log in with single sign-on (SSO). For passwordless accounts protected by a PIN or a security key, item protection is only available on mobile for Secure Notes when you have biometrics like your face and fingerprint turned on.
Log in to your Dashlane account with SSO
Passwordless login for Dashlane
After you turn off item protection, Dashlane no longer asks you to unlock your logins, Secure Notes, or secrets before you copy, view, or autofill them.
Item protection for logins, Secure Notes, and secrets
Turn on item protection for your logins, Secure Notes, and secrets
Unlock a protected login, Secure Note, or secret
Turn off item protection for a login
-
Select the D icon in your browser's toolbar, log in with your Master Password, and select Open the web app.
- Select Logins in the side menu.
- Select the login you want to remove item protection from.
- In the Preferences section, clear Protect item.
-
Select Save.
Turn off item protection for a Secure Note
-
Select the D icon in your browser's toolbar, log in with your Master Password, and select Open the web app.
- Select Secure Notes in the side menu.
- Select the Secure Note you want to remove item protection from.
- In the Preferences section, clear Protect item.
-
Select Save.
You can also turn this off for a Secure Note from the Dashlane mobile app.
Turn off item protection for a secret
-
Select the D icon in your browser's toolbar, log in with your Master Password, and select Open the web app.
- Select Secrets in the side menu.
- Select the secret you want to remove item protection from.
- In the Preferences section, clear Require Master Password.
-
Select Save.
Turn off item protection for all your logins at once
-
Select the D icon in your browser's toolbar, log in with your Master Password, and select Open the web app.
- In the Vault menu in the top left of the page, select Settings and then Security settings.
-
Select Require authentication, and turn it off.
Important: Once item protection is off, anyone with access to your unlocked vault can view, copy, or autofill this item without extra confirmation.