How to sync my data between all my devices

If you are a Premium user, you can securely synchronize your Dashlane data across all of your devices, be they computers, phones, or tablets. 

Remember that you must be logged in to the same account on all devices you wish to synchronize.

How does sync work?

Dashlane will synchronize your data every time you log in, and every five minutes after that. If you add to or edit your data, this will also trigger a synchronization.

Naturally this is the case only if you have sync enabled on your account. If you choose to disable sync, then your data will be deleted from our servers and it will only be stored locally on your device. You may wish to make secure archives of your data in case there is a problem with your device.

To change your sync settings, go to the Preferences menu and then to the Sync tab. You can slide the button to enable or disable Sync for your account.

sync-preferences.png

Note that you cannot choose to partially synchronize your data. Your Sync setting is either ON, and all of your data is synchronized, or else OFF, and none of your data is synchronized.

If you're hesitant to use our sync function, please refer to our security and privacy page. Remember that your data is always encrypted when on our servers, and is only ever decrypted locally using your Master Password.

How to access my account on a new device

First, install Dashlane on your new device. Simply download it for free from our site, from the Google Play Store for your Android device, or from the App Store on your iPhone or iPad. Please click here to check the minimum requirements to install Dashlane.

Then for instructions on how to authenticate Dashlane on a new device, please click here.

Managing multiple devices

To manage your devices after adding them, go to dashlane.com and click Log in in the top right corner to sign in and access the web application, or else log in directly at app.dashlane.com.

Here you can see all of your authorized devices under My Account > Manage Devices. Click on a device and you will be able to change the name or revoke the access to your account from this device. If you do so, this means that, to access your account from this device again, you will need to enter a new security code, sent to your e-mail address or generated by your Two-Factor Authentication app.

Find out more about the web app here: What is the web app and what can it do?

And how to manage your authorized devices here: How to manage my authorized devices.

Troubleshooting sync issues

Making sure that all devices are connected to the same Dashlane account

If you have a Premium account but your data does not sync between all your devices, it may be that you have not used the same email address to log in to Dashlane. You must use the exact same email to log in to your account on all the devices you wish to have synchronize. If you use a different email address, you are considered a different user and your data will not sync data with that account.

Please check that there is no mistake in your email address on any of your devices. To check what email address you used to log in, log out of your Dashlane account by selecting File > Log out (on Windows and macOS) or by going to Settings > Log out (on iOS and Android).

Note that the email address used to identify your account cannot be changed in Dashlane. Even if you have changed your contact email address in your Dashlane's preferences, you must use your registered account email address to log in to your account.

If one of your device uses a different email address and does not sync, here is how to sign in using the correct email address:

Windows or macOS

  1. Log out of your Dashlane account (if you are logged in at the moment) to bring up the login window;
    1. On Windows, go to File > Log out
    2. On macOS, go to Dashlane menu > Log out
  2. Click inside the email field and delete its contents
  3. Enter the email address used for your Premium subscription in the email field, then enter your Master Password and click on Log in
  4. If the device is not yet authorized to access this account, a security code will be required to prove you are the owner of the account. These codes are either sent by e-mail or generated by your Two-Factor Authentication app, if you enabled Two-Factor Authentication
  5. Copy the security code onto this window and log in. Your account data will be downloaded from our servers and decrypted using your Master Password. All your devices will now sync! 

A step-by-step guide to use a Dashlane account on a new device can be found here: Adding a new device to your Dashlane account.

iOS or Android

  1. Log out of your Dashlane account (if you are logged in at the moment) to bring up the login window;
    1. On Android, go to the app settings, scroll down to the bottom and tap Log out
    2. On iOS, go to the Settings section, tap the Security tab and then tap Log out
  2. Delete the content of the email / Dashlane ID field and enter your email address here. Then enter your Master Password and tap on Log in
  3. If the device is not yet authorized to access this account, a security code will be required to prove you are the owner of the account. These codes are either sent by email or generated by your Two-Factor Authentication app, if you enabled Two-Factor Authentication
  4. Copy the security code onto this window and log in. Your account data will be downloaded from our servers and decrypted using your Master Password. All your devices will now sync!

If all your devices are using the same registered email address but still do not sync, please refer to the following paragraph.

Figuring out where the sync issue lies

If all your devices are using the same registered email address but still do not sync, please log in to the web app and check if your data is synced there. If you do not see any data in the web app, it means that no data ever synced to our servers. In that case, please check that Dashlane can access your network properly and is not blocked by a firewall or a proxy.

As long as the global sync setting is ON in your Dashlane app's preferences, there is no way that all your devices will have a sync issue at the same time (sync issues are quite rare to start with). Therefore, here is how to determine which of your devices is actually having the sync issue:

  1. Log into your Dashlane account on the web app and check that your data is showing there.
  2. Log into your Dashlane account on your different devices and add a different "dummy" password/secure note on each of them.
  3. Trigger a sync on your devices:
    1. On Windows and macOS, click the Sync menu and then Sync now or press F5
    2. On Android, go to the app's settings, scroll down and tap Sync now
    3. On iOS, go to the Contacts section and access the Sharing Center (this should trigger a sync)
  4. Trigger a sync on the web app by clicking the cogwheel in the bottom left corner and then Sync now in the menu that will open on the right.
  5. Check which "dummy" passwords/secure notes have successfully synced to the web app, and you will know which device is not properly syncing.

Once you have identified the source of the sync issue, you can continue to the next step below.

Fixing the sync issue

Fixing a sync issue can be a bit complex and requires performing actions that have an impact on both your local encrypted data file and the encrypted backup we store on our servers. It is a risky procedure that might result in the partial or full loss of your data if the wrong set of actions is performed.

Therefore, we strongly recommend contacting our Support team to get the appropriate help. Please provide as much information as you can on the result of your tests when you create the support ticket. It will help us in providing the right instructions to fix your issue as quickly as possible.

I have duplicate items in my account. What happened?

If you find that you have duplicate entries in your Dashlane account after syncing your devices, there might have been a problem with sync. This may happen if you had sync enabled on one device and disabled on your second device, or switched sync on and off several times in a row.

When you disable sync on one or all of your devices and then turn it on again, there's a strong chance you will end up with duplicates. The best practice is to either leave sync enabled to use Dashlane across all your devices, or leave sync disabled if you want to keep your data locally on one device.

You can find out more about how to delete duplicates here: How to select and edit multiple credentials at the same time?

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
35 out of 77 found this helpful