How to export or back up your Dashlane account

Dashlane automatically backs up your data with its Sync feature using maximum security and privacy. However, if you do not wish to sync your data automatically, we highly recommend that you back it up manually. Here is how to export, back up and restore your Dashlane account.

Please keep in mind that if your account is linked to a Dashlane Business plan and Smart Space Management is enabled, any passwords that are enforced under the Company Space will not be exported.

Local Backup vs. Sync (Online Backup)

If you disabled Sync in Dashlane and would like to back up your data – to be sure not to lose anything in case your computer stops working – , we recommend using the Dashlane secure archive format.

When using this format, all your Dashlane data are saved into one simple archive file protected by your master password. Keep this file in a safe place (on a USB key or on an external hard drive) and make regular backups. Note that you will have to use Dashlane again to import and restore your data from this file. Keep in mind that Dashlane will always remain free to use, so it should not be a problem!

Note: If you want to use Dashlane on more than one device (including mobile devices) and access your passwords and notes on the Web app, we strongly recommend to use Sync so that all your data are automatically synced between all your devices and computers. When Sync is disabled, your data will remain on your computer only.

Sync is very easy to use and will work in the background without even you noticing it. It is the best way to be sure you will never lose your data.

Find more info on synchronizing your data using our services here.

Create a local backup or print your data

Note that it is only possible to create a backup using a computer (Windows or macOS) and not using mobile devices (iOS or Android).

To create a backup of your data:

On Windows

  1. Launch Dashlane and log in to your account,
  2. Select File → Export data → Dashlane secure archive… from the top menu,
  3. Enter your master password if required,
  4. Save the file in a safe place.

On macOS

  1. Launch Dashlane and log in to your account,
  2. Select File → Export → Dashlane secure archive… from the top menu (or press ⌘ + ⇧ + S),
  3. Enter your master password if required,
  4. Save the file in a safe place.

Your whole account is exported in the process. It is not possible for now to export only part of your data.

You can move the file wherever you like. When restoring from this backup, it does not matter where the file actually is. The name of the file can also be changed.

If you prefer to print it to keep a hard copy of your data, you can also export it in Excel or CSV format. Remember to keep this in a safe place!

Restore your account from backup

Restoring an account can only be done on Windows or macOS.

When importing a backup file, all the data that were previously saved in your account when the backup was exported are imported into your account. It is not possible to select or deselect which data to import.

We recommend to restore your backup file into a new and clean account, otherwise you may end up with duplicates. If you would like to reset your account and start over before importing a backup file, please refer to this article here.

On Windows

  1. Open Dashlane and log in to your account,
  2. In order to avoid duplicates, make sure your account does not contain any data which may be at the same time in your account and in your backup file,
  3. Select File → Import Data → Dashlane secure archive… from the top menu,
  4. Select the file that you exported previously,
  5. Enter the master password used to cipher the backup file (i.e. the master password you had on your account at the time you exported the file).

On macOS

  1. Open Dashlane and log in to your account,
  2. In order to avoid duplicates, make sure your account does not contain any data which may be at the same time in your account and in your backup file,
  3. Select File → Import → Dashlane secure archive… from the top menu (or press ⌘ + ⇧ + O),
  4. Select the file that you exported previously,
  5. Enter the master password used to cipher the backup file (i.e. the master password you had on your account at the time you exported the file).
Last update:
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 5 found this helpful