This article walks you through what to expect when your admin removes you from a Dashlane Team or Dashlane Business plan.
Leaving a Dashlane Team plan
After the admin has revoked your access, Dashlane will notify you in the app and by email that they've removed you from the Team plan.
If your admin enabled the Removing company items for revoked users feature, items you saved to your business space will be removed from your account.
Any passwords shared with groups with full rights will remain accessible to those groups, but passwords shared with limited rights will be removed.
Any passwords in your personal space will remain saved and available in your account.
In the browser extension window, the first letter of your company's name will display next to passwords in the company space, as seen with the "C" in the example below. Remember that a password's category is unrelated to its space.
In the web app, you can switch spaces to show only the personal space, only the business space, or all spaces.
Once removed from the plan, you'll have access to Dashlane Premium features for the next 40 days. This allows you to access your data on multiple devices, store unlimited passwords, and use Dark Web Monitoring. For more information on Dashlane Premium and all the features it offers, see Making the most of Dashlane Premium.
If you choose not to upgrade to any of our paid plans before your 40-day free trial ends, you'll no longer be able to access your data on multiple devices at the same time or save more passwords once you've reached the 50-password limit.
At any time, you can export your passwords into several formats. For more detailed information on how to do so, see Exporting and importing passwords.
The email used to create your account login cannot be changed. However, you can update your contact email address to be sure to receive security codes or other important communication from Dashlane. Alternatively, you can export your passwords and import them into a new Dashlane account that you create with your personal email. For a more detailed walk-through, read about creating a new account.
Leaving a Dashlane Business plan
If single sign-on (SSO) was not enabled on your Dashlane Business plan, the experience will be the same as when leaving a Dashlane Team plan. Please see the information in the section above.
If you're being removed from a Dashlane Business plan with active SSO, the experience will be different.
Because you created your Dashlane account using your company's SSO credentials, you do not have a Master Password. As a result, if you no longer have access to your company's SSO, you will no longer be able to log in to Dashlane and will lose access to the information you stored there, including your personal credentials. Because Dashlane has no control over your company's policies, we recommend you contact your IT administrator, who should warn you before removing you from the plan.
If your admin notifies you that your account will be disabled soon, you can export all personal passwords into a readable format (CSV or Excel spreadsheet file) or a Dashlane Secure Archive (DASH) file and take them with you. Remember that items that were forced to your business space and contain your company domain will not be exported from your account and cannot be recovered once you have been removed from the plan.