Only members of organizations with Password Management or Credential Protection can use secrets. You can share secrets only with members of your organization's Dashlane plan.
To edit a secret someone shared with you, you need full rights. With limited rights, you can view and copy the secret, but you can’t edit it.
More about sharing rights
Change a secret’s name, value, Space, or protection settings.
Web browser
- Go to Secrets in the web app and open the secret you want to edit.
-
You can make these changes:
- Change the Secret name
- Change the Secret value
- Move the secret to another Space, if your plan has separate Personal and Business Spaces
- Select or clear the Require Master Password checkbox
- Select Share to share the secret with plan members
- Select Shared access to view and change who has access
If you log in with single sign-on (SSO), you won’t see the Require Master Password option. With SSO, you log in to Dashlane with your work password instead of a Master Password. If you’re not sure whether you use SSO, ask your plan admin.
- Select Close.
Android app
- Find the secret in the Secrets tab, or search for it in the search bar at the top of the app.
- Select the 3-dot menu for the secret and then Edit. Or open the secret and select the pencil icon in the upper-right corner.
-
You can make these changes:
- Change the Secret name
- Change the Secret value
- Select or clear Protect item
If you log in with single sign-on (SSO), you won’t see the Protect item option. With SSO, you log in to Dashlane with your work password instead of a Master Password. If you’re not sure whether you use SSO, ask your plan admin.
- Select the checkmark icon in the upper-right corner to save your changes.
Note: You can’t move a secret to another Space in the Android app. To change the Space, use the web app, iPhone or iPad app, or macOS app.
iPhone or iPad app
- Find the secret in the Secrets tab, or search for it in the All Items tab.
- Select the 3-dot menu for the secret and then Edit. Or open the secret and select Edit in the upper-right corner.
-
You can make these changes:
- Change the Secret name
- Change the Secret value
- Move the secret to another Space, if your plan has separate Personal and Business Spaces
- Select or clear Protect item
- Select the number of users in the Contacts section to view and change who has access
If you log in with single sign-on (SSO), you won’t see the Protect item option. With SSO, you log in to Dashlane with your work password instead of a Master Password. If you’re not sure whether you use SSO, ask your plan admin.
- Select the checkmark icon in the upper-right corner to save your changes.
macOS app
- Find the secret in the Secrets tab, or search for it in the Home tab.
- Select the 3-dot menu for the secret and then Edit. Or open the secret and select Edit in the upper-right corner.
-
You can make these changes:
- Change the Secret name
- Change the Secret value
- Move the secret to another Space, if your plan has separate Personal and Business Spaces
- Select or clear Protect item
- Select the number of users in the Contacts section to view and change who has access
If you log in with single sign-on (SSO), you won’t see the Protect item option. With SSO, you log in to Dashlane with your work password instead of a Master Password. If you’re not sure whether you use SSO, ask your plan admin.
- Select the checkmark icon in the upper-right corner to save your changes.