Only admins and members of organizations with Password Management or Credential Protection can use secrets.
Secrets are a secure way to store and manage sensitive company information, such as application programming interface (API) keys, database credentials, encryption keys, and authentication tokens. You can store secrets in your Dashlane vault and share them with members of your plan. Admins and developers can also access secrets with our Command Line Interface (CLI).
What makes secrets secure?
Many organizations store secrets like API keys in plain text on devices or in the cloud. Storing secrets this way can make an organization vulnerable to cyber attacks.
With Dashlane, you can store all your organization's secrets in one secure place. Our zero-knowledge security approach encrypts the secrets you store in Dashlane, so only authorized plan members can access them.
Your organization's developers can use our CLI to access digital keys, like API, RSA, or SSH keys, without exposing the information in plain text. CLI integration makes secrets the most secure way to handle API keys and other sensitive organization information.
Manage secrets
You can add, edit, and delete secrets in any Dashlane app. You can also attach a document to a secret in the Android, iPhone, and macOS apps.
If your plan has separate Personal and Business Spaces, new secrets go in your Business Space by default. You can move a secret between Spaces in the web app, iPhone app, and macOS app, but not in the Android app.
Share secrets
You can share secrets with individual members of your organization's Dashlane plan or with sharing groups. You can't share secrets with people outside your plan.
When you share a secret, you choose what each person or group can do with it:
- Full access: Edit and share the secret, manage other people's access, and revoke your access
- Can edit: Edit the secret, but not share it
- Can view: View and copy the secret, but not edit or share it
If someone shared a secret with you with the Can autofill permission, you can't view, copy, edit, delete, or share it.
More about sharing permissions
If you share a secret with the wrong people or change your mind, you can change their permission or revoke their access. When you revoke access, Dashlane deletes the secret from that person's account.
Share an item
Change permissions or revoke access
Access secrets using the CLI
If you're an admin or developer, you can use the Dashlane CLI to access a secret from your terminal.
For example, instead of copying and pasting an API key from the Dashlane app, you can access the key with a simple command that uses the secret's ID. The key stays securely stored in Dashlane, and you can insert it into template files, environment variables, or your clipboard.
More about accessing secrets using the CLI
Dashlane CLI documentation
What is the Dashlane CLI?