How to share your saved items

Using Dashlane's Secure Sharing feature you can securely share either Passwords or Secure Notes to other Dashlane users.

Why use Sharing?

Sharing data in emails or texts is not secure but using Dashlane's Sharing Center is.

Each time you share a password or any sensitive information by email, the information is copied in plain text in:

  • The 'Sent' folder in your email provider's inbox
  • The 'Sent' folder on all other devices connected to your inbox
  • Your email provider's servers
  • Your recipient’s email provider's servers (which may actually include several different locations and data centers)
  • Your recipient’s computers or devices

Sharing this information through instant messaging apps also is insecure, as the information is usually not encrypted and is sent in plain text on the network. This means your information can be read by the company running the messaging service and conversations are also generally saved in the history by these applications.

However, by using Dashlane's Sharing feature, your data is encrypted using the best encryption system to-date before even being sent over the internet. Please see the Security and Privacy section of this article for more details. For more information on security and encryption, please click here.

How to Share

There are two ways to share your data with another Dashlane user:

From the item you want to share

To share an item with someone, simply locate the item from either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections of your Dashlane app and double-click on the item to reveal the full details. Next, click on the Share icon at the top. Alternatively, you can simply right-click and click Share.

Enter the Dashlane email address of the person you are sharing with and click Next. Please note that you can choose between two permission settings: Limited Rights and Full Rights

Limited Rights: The recipient can solely use this item.
Full Rights: The recipient can use, view, edit, and share this item. They can also edit sharing rights and revoke sharing rights of other users who were shared this item, including yours. 

202699021_01_Updated_EN.png

Once you've shared an item, the recipient will receive an email from Dashlane and receive an alert in the Sharing Center to accept access to this item.

202699021_03_Updated_EN.png

You will notice that any shared items will have a special icon underneath it, telling you that this item is shared with one or several other people. You can click on See details to see with whom you are sharing this item.

202699021_04_Updated_EN.png

Using the Sharing Center

You can share Passwords and Secure Notes directly from the Sharing Center. From there, click on the green Add new button at the top of the window.

Select the items you want to share and the people you want to share with by manually entering them or clicking the down arrow button to the right.

Next, choose between two permission settings, Limited Rights or Full Rights, and click Send.

Limited Rights: The recipient can solely use this item.
Full Rights: The recipient can use, view, edit, and share this item. They can also edit sharing rights and revoke sharing rights of other users who were shared this item, including yours.

Once you've shared an item, the recipient will receive an email from Dashlane and receive an alert in the Sharing Center to accept access to this item.

Shared items management

After a Password or Secure Note has been shared with you and you were granted Full Rights over the item, you will then have the same rights over this data as its creator. This means you will be able to:

  • Edit the Password or Secure Note (by doing so, this will update the item for all users it has been shared with)
  • See with whom this has been shared (from the Sharing Center)
  • Revoke the sharing rights of any or all users (when revoking access, Dashlane remotely deletes data from other computers at the next launch)

If an item is shared with you and you delete it from your Dashlane account, the item will not be deleted from its creator's Dashlane account.

Do I need to be Premium to share?

No - You don't need to have a Premium subscription in order to use Dashlane's Sharing feature, however, if you're using the free version of Dashlane, you can only share a maximum of 5 items between each user (i.e. if you share 2 items with a user and they share 3 items with you, you both would meet this maximum of 5 items per user). Premium users have unlimited sharing. Read more here: Dashlane Free v. Premium

Revoke a user

If you shared something with the incorrect user, the email address included a typo, or you change your mind later, you can revoke access from the Sharing Center. Locate the user you shared the item, click on the shared item, and then click on Revoke access to stop sharing this item with this user.

202699021_05_Updated_EN.png

Security and Privacy

For each Dashlane user, we created:

  • A unique public key saved on Dashlane's servers. When records are shared the recipient's public key is used for encryption (asymmetric).
  • A unique private key which is directly saved in your Dashlane account and encrypted in your Dashlane settings. This is known exclusively by you and never shared or transmitted to others. This key works even for free users who don't have the sync feature because your account settings are synced across all devices even if you don't have Premium. This private key is used to decrypt data exclusively. Please note that your private key is different to your Master Password. Your private key is encrypted with your Master Password and stored in the settings of your Dashlane account (along with all of your other saved sensitive data). This private key is synced over to other devices in the same way as your encrypted data is. We never send your Master Password over the internet.

Both keys are generated together and are meant to work together because they only work in one direction. One can never be used to replace the other. Even with access to your public key, one would still need access to the private key in order for decryption to take place. Shared data is encrypted with the recipient's public key, but can't be decrypted with the public key.

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
5 out of 6 found this helpful